BBC iPlayer for connected TV privacy notice

Your trust is very important to us. This means the BBC is committed to protecting the privacy and security of your personal information. This privacy notice describes how we collect and use personal information about you when you use BBC iPlayer for connected TV. 
You can find additional information in the BBC’s Privacy and Cookies Policy. Find out more about information and privacy.

We require users to sign in with a BBC account to watch BBC iPlayer: Why must I sign in to a BBC account to use BBC iPlayer?

The BBC uses technologies similar to website cookies to measure audiences for our services on connected TVs. Information about how you use BBC iPlayer will be stored on your TV and securely on BBC servers.

Your Added programmes

For signed in users, when you add something to your Added programmes, this information is stored on the BBC servers to allow you to access your list from multiple devices.

For devices that do not support sign in, when you add something to your favourites, the action is stored locally on your device. This is then sent to BBC servers to find out if the programme is currently available on BBC iPlayer.

You can remove your Added or Favourite programmes by going to ‘Manage full list’ and selecting the X next to the programme you want to remove.

Recent searches

We think it’s useful to display the programmes you’ve previously searched for, so you can easily find them again. This information is stored on your device only and not sent to BBC servers. Deleting/clearing your search history isn’t currently available on connected TVs.

Other information stored on your device

To give you the best BBC iPlayer experience, this information may be stored on your device or BBC servers:

  • Your current video quality setting and the BBC region or nation you have chosen
  • Resume positions for programmes you’re currently watching for devices that do not support sign-in. For signed in users this information will be stored on BBC servers.
  • Whether you’ve dismissed in-app messages like TV licence messages
  • Parental Guidance PIN, secret question and answer
  • A cookie for beta mode, so we know if you’ve opted to use the testing version of BBC iPlayer
  • Cookie values to remember whether you are signed in
  • A cookie value for promotions so that you only see them once

This information will be deleted if you uninstall the BBC iPlayer app.

Managing your BBC account

You can manage or delete your BBC account at any time. Find out more about managing your account. We will help you make informed decisions about your information, so everyone can get the best out of digital technologies and the BBC. Find out what we're doing with your information and more about cookies.

When you’re signed in, we’ll recommend programmes we think you’ll like, based on what you’ve already watched. We’ll also remember how much of a programme you’ve watched. So you can pick up exactly where you left off, even on another device.

If you want, you can turn off personalisation for your account. We’ll still collect data about your use of iPlayer on connected TV, but the data will only be used for analysis to support the BBC’s decisions, and won’t be linked to your BBC account. Children under 13 need permission from their parent or guardian to turn on personalisation for their account. Find out more about child accounts.

The BBC is the ‘data controller’ of this information. This means that the BBC decides what your personal information is used for, and the ways in which it is processed. 

We carry out this processing on the basis of the BBC’s legitimate interests in providing a personalised service for audience members. If you don’t want a personalised service, you can turn off ‘allow personalisation’ for your account.

Other purposes for which data is processed include helping us understand audience interests and preferences so we can make sure we’re making something for everyone. We also share some information with TV Licensing, to keep their database up to date.

For children under 13, we process their data on the basis of consent given by the child’s parent or guardian.

You can remove data stored on the TV itself by removing your BBC account from the TV. If you delete your BBC account, then your personal information will immediately be deleted from BBC servers and the remaining information made anonymous. We might then use it to help us improve our services. 

If you have any questions about how the BBC handles your personal information, or you wish to find out about your rights, please visit the BBC’s Privacy and Cookies Policy. You will also be able to find out more information about how the BBC processes your information and how you can contact the BBC’s Data Protection Officer. 

If you raise a concern with the BBC about the way it has handled your personal information, you are entitled to lodge a concern with a supervisory authority. In the UK, the supervisory authority is the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO).