To give you the best BBC iPlayer experience, some details like your search history and Added list may be stored on your device or securely on BBC servers.
The app also uses technologies similar to performance cookies. The BBC uses these for internal purposes to analyse and improve the app. You can change your settings for this on your device.
Your Added programmes
When you Add something to My Programmes, the action gets stored on your device and sent to BBC servers to find out if the programme is currently available on BBC iPlayer. You can remove programmes by tapping Remove.
To remove everything from My Programmes:
- On Android and Amazon Fire, you can do this in the general Settings on your device. Choose Applications, Application manager or Installed Apps, scroll down to BBC iPlayer and tap Clear data or Clear cache (this will also remove all your Downloads).
- On iOS, you’ll need to uninstall and reinstall the app (this will also remove all your Downloads).
Search history (iOS only)
We think it’s useful to display the programmes you’ve previously searched for within the app, so you can easily find them again. This information is stored on your device only and not sent to BBC servers.
You can delete your search history by tapping the Clear history button on the search screen. This isn’t currently available on Android devices.
The app uses performance cookies and similar technologies for internal purposes to help us give you a better experience in line with the BBC's Privacy and Cookies Policy: http://www.bbc.co.uk/privacy/.
You can switch this off using the Share Statistics toggle on the BBC iPlayer app’s Settings screen.
Other information stored on your device
To give you the best BBC iPlayer experience, the following information may be stored on your device only:
- The last Category you viewed, so we can return you there when you next go to the Categories section
- The last Channel you viewed, so we can return you there when you next go to the Channels section
- Whether you last viewed the Queue or the Downloaded page, so we can return you there when you next go to the Downloads section
- Your current Download Quality setting
- Resume positions for programmes you’re currently watching (on the same device)
- Whether you’ve confirmed that you’re aged 16 years or over
- Whether you’ve dismissed in-app messages like suggested app upgrade messages, warnings about network provider charges or TV Licence messages
- Downloaded programmes and the downloading and expiry state of those programmes
- Parental Guidance Lock PIN, secret question and answer
This information will be deleted if you uninstall the BBC iPlayer app. On Android and Amazon Fire devices, you can also delete this data in the general Settings on your device. Choose Applications, Application manager or Installed Apps, scroll down to BBC iPlayer and tap Clear data or Clear cache (this will also remove all your Downloads).
This data will not be stored on BBC servers.
What happens if you delete the app?
By uninstalling the app, all BBC iPlayer app data stored on your device will be removed including your downloaded programmes.
BBC Privacy & Cookies Policy
The BBC will keep your information secure and not share it with anyone else in accordance with the BBC’s Privacy and Cookies Policy, available at http://www.bbc.co.uk/privacy/