BBC Symphony Orchestra
28 Feb 2015, Barbican, London
Previous Event
19:30 Sat 28 Feb 2015 Next Event

BBC SO 2014-15 Season Segerstam conducts Bruckner

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Segerstam conducts Bruckner
19:30 Sat 28 Feb 2015 Barbican Hall
Bach’s Jesu, meine Freude and Bruckner's Symphony No 8.
Bach’s Jesu, meine Freude and Bruckner's Symphony No 8.


      • Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227
      • Locus iste
      • Os justi
      • Christus factus est (1884 setting)
      • Ave Maria (1861 setting)
      • Symphony No 8 in C minor (1890 version, ed. Nowak)


Concert Information

James O’Donnell, Organist of Westminster Abbey will open this special concert with the BBC Singers performing motets by two master musical architects, Bach and Bruckner. Bach’s five-part motet ‘Jesu, meine Freude’ is one of his most perfectly symmetrical structures, while in Bruckner’s fine motets we hear echoes of Palestrina sung during his chorister days in St Florian. In the second half, Leif Segerstam presents Bruckner’s cathedral-like masterpiece.

Please note there has been a change to the original billing for this concert. Leif Segerstam replaces Semyon Bychkov as the conductor in Bruckner's Symphony No. 8.

BBC Singers at Six
6pm, St Giles' Cripplegate
As a prelude to their performance of J S Bach’s great motet Jesu, meine Freude in tonight’s BBC SO concert, James O’Donnell and the BBC Singers explore the musical world of the city where that motet was composed.