« Previous | Main | Next »

Literature Wales announces Writers' Bursaries

Post categories:

Laura Chamberlain Laura Chamberlain | 11:27 UK time, Wednesday, 6 April 2011

The newly formed Literature Wales has announced the Welsh authors who are set to benefit from their 2011 Writers' Bursaries.

The bursaries, which total £90,000, will enable writers to take time out of employment to write. Writing projects are set to include fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction, and for the first time graphic novels are also included in the bursary awards.

Six of the authors are yet unpublished while established authors receiving funding include Dylan Thomas Prize winner Rachel Trezise, who will use the bursary to develop her new collection of short stories, and Robert Minhinnick, who will write Limestone Man - a follow up to his 2007 novel Sea Holly.

English-language bursaries have been awarded to Jonathan Edwards, Richard Roberts, Angharad Penrhyn Jones, Karl Drinkwater, Huw Aaron and Mari Lisa. The Welsh-language recipients are Gwyneth Lewis, Meic Stephens, Arwel Vittle, Aled Jones-Williams, Tudur Hallam, Alan Llwyd and Mari Lisa.

Literature Wales has also announced the important dates for the annual Wales Book of the Year. The long lists for both the English and Welsh language titles will be announced a week today - Wednesday 13 April - while the short lists will be unveiled on Thursday 19 May and the winners announced on Thursday 7 July.

Read more on the Literature Wales website.


Be the first to comment

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.