« Previous | Main | Next »

Daniel Evans is Eisteddfod's Honorary President

Post categories:

Laura Chamberlain Laura Chamberlain | 10:35 UK time, Friday, 23 July 2010

Welsh star of stage and screen Daniel Evans will act as this year's Honorary President at the Blaenau Gwent and Heads of the Valleys National Eisteddfod.

Evans trained at London's Guildhall School of Music and has worked for the Royal Shakespeare Company and British National Theatre. He has won two prestigious Olivier Awards for his roles in Merrily We Roll Along and Sunday In The Park With George.

The successful actor is currently the artistic director of Sheffield Theatres, which takes in The Crucible, The Lyceum, and the Studio Theatre.

Daniel Evans

Evans follows in the footsteps of some of Wales' greatest names in acting as the Eisteddfod's president, with recent post holders including former First Minister Rhodri Morgan, Lord Gwilym Prys-Davies, Professor Prys Morgan, Guto Harri and Dafydd Wigley.

In Eisteddfod history a different president was honoured each day, but in recent years there has been one sole president for the whole week. David Lloyd George was the Day President for the Thursday for many years and other notable politicians, including Gladstone, also enjoyed the accolade.

Evans is also set to act as one of the adjudicators for this year's Richard Burton Prize, having won the award himself in its inaugural year 20 years ago in 1990, aged just 17. He will give his president's speech at the Eisteddfod on Wednesday 4 August.

Read the latest news on the 2010 National Eisteddfod on the BBC Eisteddfod website.

Feel free to comment! If you want to have your say, on this or any other BBC blog, you will need to sign in to your BBC iD account. If you don't have a BBC iD account, you can register here - it'll allow you to contribute to a range of BBC sites and services using a single login.

Need some assistance? Read about BBC iD, or get some help with registering.



BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.