Main content

Tagged with: books

Posts (192)

  1. Excorcism, atheism and ebooks

    Phil Rickman

    It’s now 40 years since The Exorcist hit the big screen and was promptly banned by local authorities all over the UK because of its graphic scenes of demonic possession.

    Read more

  2. Is it just Christmas, or is literature living in the past?

    Phil Rickman

    You look in a bookshop window and there they all are, the characters who live forever on the sales charts. Currently, you’ll find it’s James Bond and Bertie Wooster. Even the ones who are officially dead can’t be counted on to stay that way.

    Read more

  3. Cops and criminals

    Phil Rickman

    Real-life cops might generally be more efficient these days but, for writers of crime fiction, where the rule book tends to get discarded, policing is just not as much fun.

    Read more

  4. Hay-on-Wye: fighting back

    Phil Rickman

    It was Peter Florence, director of the Hay Festival, who said, 'Why did it take you so long?' He meant writing a novel set in Hay-on-Wye.

    Read more

  5. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown

    Phil Rickman

    It's 10 years since The Da Vinci Code was first published, which coincides with the publication of The Camelot Code and the return of Phil the Shelf to BBC Radio Wales.

    Read more

  6. Mabinogion series concludes with new tales from Trezza Azzopardi and Tishani Doshi

    Polly March

    The ancient myths of the Mabinogion are firmly rooted in the Welsh national identity, offering a mystical glimpse of the medieval Celtic myth cycle and how life in this land may once have been for our ancestors.

    Read more

  7. Aspiring authors: write what you know

    Phil Rickman

    Would-be novelists are always told: write what you know. What this actually means is that you have to look like you really know what you're writing about. Which can lead to interesting situations.

    Read more

  8. Theatre company to bring Dylan Thomas' Swansea to life with guided tour

    Polly March

    Next year marks the centenary of Dylan Thomas' birth, and there is a raft of exciting events scheduled throughout the year to commemorate Swansea's most famous son.

    Read more

  9. Funny business

    Phil Rickman

    We decided to devote a full programme in the series to funny fiction.

    Read more

  10. The psychological corridors of crime fiction

    Phil Rickman

    OK, I haven't yet read JK Rowling's pseudonymous crime novel... but in one way it looks very much like good news. The title, anyway, The Cuckoo's Calling.

    Read more