Main content



  • ABBA win Eurovision: Come Together

    ABBA's Waterloo was declared the winner of Eurovision: Come Together! In our show saw the public vote for their favourites, on the night that this year's song contest was due to take place. The song which won the contest in Brighton in 1974, topped the UK charts and set them on their way to fame, went on to sell nearly 6m copies. Waterloo was featured in an eclectic short-list of classic and modern songs, with the winner chosen by the public. The top 10 votes are published in order below.

    The top 10 songs voted for by the public are in order as follows...

    Waterloo - Abba (Sweden) - 1974

    Rise Like A Phoenix - Conchita Wurst (Austria) - 2014

    Euphoria - Loreen (Sweden) – 2012

    Love Shine A Light - Katrina & The Waves (UK) - 1997

    Heroes - Måns Zelmerlöw (Sweden) - 2015

    Fairytale - Alexander Rybak (Norway) - 2009

    Dancing Lasha Tumbai - Verka Serduchka (Ukraine) - 2007

    Making Your Mind Up - Bucks Fizz (UK) - 1981

    Save Your Kisses for Me - Brotherhood of Man (UK) - 1976


    Read more

  • May means Eurovision on the BBC

    The contest might not be going as planned this year, but we are promising plenty of Eurovision content across TV, Radio and Online in celebration of the biggest music competition in the world.

    From a night of special programmes celebrating this year’s contest on BBC One, to revisiting classic moments on BBC Two and a host of specially themed programmes and treats from the archives to enjoy on BBC Radio 2, there will be a wealth of Eurovision content for you to look forward to this May.

    Eurovision: Come Together - 6.30pm on Saturday 16 May on BBC One

    Graham Norton will be on hand to kick off a night of Eurovision fun on BBC One on Saturday 16th May.

    In this one-off special from BBC Studios, Graham will give UK viewers the opportunity to take part in a live vote to crown their favourite Eurovision performance from an eclectic short list compiled by experts and celebrity super fans. Graham will also have a chat with James Newman, the act who was due to fly the UK flag in The…

    Read more

  • James Newman is our UK Eurovision artist for 2020!

    Today we are pleased to announce our Eurovision act, James Newman. He'll be representing the UK in Rotterdam in May with his song 'My Last Breath.' The track was played on BBC Radio 1 and 2 this morning and the video is available here on the official Eurovision YouTube channel.

    James is a multi-platinum selling, Brit Award winning and Grammy nominated songwriter, having won a Brit for British Single of the Year for ‘Waiting All Night’ performed by Rudimental and Ella Eyre.

    James grew up in Settle in the Yorkshire Dales with younger brother John Newman, who is also a successful recording artist. At 18, James moved to Newcastle to study a HND in Popular Music. A few years later success came knocking as James met his now friend and then work colleague Sophie, whose brother had…

    Read more

  • The UK for Eurovision 2020

    Today we are pleased to confirm the United Kingdom's participation in the 65th Eurovision Song Contest which will be held in Rotterdam, The Netherlands in May 2020.

    BBC Studios will once again produce the BBC's coverage of the biggest and most-watched song competition in the world.

    Also announced is a brand new collaboration between BBC Studios and music company BMG in order to find a song and artist(s) to represent the United Kingdom in next year’s contest.

    Read more

  • The Netherlands wins Eurovision 2019

    The Netherlands’ Duncan Laurence has won the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv with 'Arcade'.

    The song came third in the professional jury vote, but adding the public vote meant it got the highest overall score of 492.

    Italy came second with 465 and Russia were third with 369 points.

    It’s the first time the Netherlands has won Eurovision since 1975 and it means they will host the…

    Read more

  • Michael Rice is our 2019 Eurovision entry

    Congratulations to Michael Rice, who will be representing the UK at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with his winning song, Bigger Than Us.

    Our judging panel - Marvin Humes, Rylan and Mollie King - whittled down six performances to just three, with Kerrie-Anne, Jordan Clarke and Michael Rice going through to the audience vote.

    The viewers then chose to send 21-year-old Michael - who won BBC talent show All Together Now last year - to Tel Aviv.

    Read more

  • Six acts, three songs, You Decide returns in 2019!

    Today we can reveal exciting changes for our song selection show as a brand new location and format details are revealed for Eurovision: You Decide. Presented by Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw, BBC Music’s Eurovision: You Decide will be broadcast live from MediaCity UK in Salford as the show comes to the North West of England for the very first time.

    As well as a new home, there…

    Read more

  • We’re opening our song submission for Eurovision 2019!

    Today we can confirm our participation in the 64th Eurovision Song Contest held in Tel Aviv, Israel next May; by opening the public song submissions to find the UK’s entry.

    As last year, all public entries will be shortlisted by a representative panel of official UK Eurovision Fan Club (OGAE UK) members. While entries are also being sought from leading professional songwriters, with guidance…

    Read more

  • Israel win Eurovision 2018!

    Netta Barzilai, the 2018 Eurovision favourite, has won the contest in a thrilling night in Lisbon with her song 'Toy'.

    Her unusual performance was a hit with both the expert juries and the public.

    Upon winning she said: "I'm so happy! Thank you so much for choosing different... thank you for celebrating diversity."

    Read more

  • Send Graham your Eurovision 2018 party shout outs!

    It's the most wonderful time of the year, Eurovision! Let us know how you're celebrating at home and Graham Norton might give you a shout out on air during tonight's commentary from Lisbon. Let us know below; who you are, where you are, and how you are marking Europe's biggest music competition. The more detail the better!

    In the meantime download our scoresheet to play along with at home. Join us at 8pm BBC One!

    Read more