Here's a reminder of question number 10, followed by Keith Hackett's answer

Jens Lehmann

On Tuesday You Are The Ref creator Paul Trevillion gave us this special bonus question:

A goalkeeper is having a nightmare game. He has let in two very soft goals, but his team are hanging on to a 3-2 lead with five minutes remaining.

They concede a penalty. If the spot-kick is scored it is likely to mean extra-time.

It's a poor penalty, fired straight at the goalkeeper. But the keeper then spills it and the penalty taker runs on to it in an attempt to put the rebound in the net. The goalkeeper also goes for the ball and dives, but makes contact with the opponent before touching the ball.

Here is the situation:

A: The penalty taker claims another penalty
B: The penalty taker's captain insists the goalkeeper has denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity so it should be another penalty and the goalkeeper must be sent off
C: The goalkeeper's manager runs on to the field and says it is not a sending off as the goalscoring opportunity is still valid as it is another penalty
D: The manager then insists he will substitute his goalkeeper before the second penalty is taken
E: The penalty taker's captain insists the manager should be sent to the stands the moment he ran onto the pitch, therefore you must disregard all of his comments

You are the ref - what do you do?

Keith Hackett's answer
A: It is another PENALTY KICK. One of the TEN direct free-kick offences is when a player has made contact with an opponent before touching the ball.

B: It's up to the referee to decide if the foul has denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity (DOGSO). The law states that it "denies an obvious goalscoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player's goal". So it has to be OBVIOUS and the opponent must be moving towards the player's goal. If the ball has gone to the side, it is unlikely to be DOGSO so in that case there would be no red card.

C: The referee will not base his decision on the fact that another penalty kick is an OGSO. And a manager should never run on to the field of play. The referee would immediately order the manager off the field and into the stands.

D: The goalkeeper can be substituted before the second penalty kick is taken, provided the team have not used up their permitted number of substitutes.

E. The referee will automatically ignore any comments made by the manager and base his decisions on what he has perceived himself.

This is the final week for our special Euro 2008 edition of You Are The Ref. So keep sending us your suggestions and BBC Sport will choose some to be turned into You Are The Ref scenarios. We reserve the right to modify any we select.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites