« Previous | Main | Next »

EastEnders wins three TVChoice Awards

Nickie | 10:00 UK time, Tuesday, 11 September 2012

We're thrilled to announce that EastEnders has won three sparkling gongs at the 2012 TVChoice Awards.

Tony Discipline, Phaldut Sharma, Jasmyn Banks, Ricky Norwood and Rachel Bright. Copyright: Rachel Bright

Shane Richie (Alfie Moon) was awarded Best Actor, while Tony Discipline (Tyler Moon) picked up Best Newcomer and EastEnders was crowned Best Soap!


Shane said: "Just wanted to say a massive THANK YOU to each & everyone of you that voted for me, tony & of course eastenders, it means so much to all of us here in Walford, we love ya !!!"

And we caught up with Tony who has put his award on his mantelpiece in pride of place, saying: "I'd just like to say thank you to everyone who voted. It means a lot - I'm chuffed to bits!" 

EastEnders' Executive Producer Lorraine Newman added:

 “To be recognised as worthy winners in 3 out of the 4 categories we were nominated in - especially at a ceremony where the awards are voted for purely by the viewers - is a tremendous achievement. The reaction to the show at the moment is incredible, and the response in the room every time a clip from the Live Olympic Torch episode was shown last night was amazing.”

Clockwise: Phaldut Sharma, Jasmyn Banks, Rachel Bright, Nitin Ganatra; Rachel Bright and Tony Discipline; Chucky Venn and Nina Wadia; Shona McGarty, Russell Howard and Rachel Bright. Copyright: Rachel Bright

A massive thank you to everyone who voted, from all of the cast. Your support means the world to us!




BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.