Main content

Series 12 writers and directors announced!

With the Thirteenth Doctor and her friends well on their way to landing back on our screens, the next series is set to welcome an exciting host of new directors and both new and returning writers.

Three new writers have jumped on board the TARDIS for series 12:

Nina Metivier

Maxine Alderton

Charlene James

Also making their debut in 2020 and joining the fam, are four new directors ready to travel through space and time:

Nida Manzoor

Emma Sullivan

Jamie Magnus Stone

Lee Haven Jones

In addition, three writers return from series 11:

Vinay Patel (Demons of The Punjab)

Ed Hime (It Takes You Away)

Pete McTighe (Kerblam!)


Chris Chibnall says:

"We’re thrilled that Doctor Who continues to attract some of the most exciting and dynamic talent working in television. Along with our returning faces, we’re excited to welcome new members to the Doctor Who family. The Doctor Who team is crammed with British television’s brightest writers and directors: we’ve adored working with them, and can’t wait to show you the explosive stuff they’ve created!”


Doctor Who returns in early 2020 when Doctor Who makes an explosive return to screens for another action-packed series of thrilling adventure.

More Articles