Main content

BBC Soundstart 2018 - the Carleton Hobbs Bursary & Norman Beaton Fellowship

Hannah Khalil

Digital Content Producer, About The BBC Blog

Tagged with:

BBC (((soundstart))) Carleton Hobbs Bursary & Norman Beaton Fellowship winners 2018

Winners of BBC Radio Drama’s (((soundstart))) 2018 awards were celebrated at a ceremony on Wednesday 20 June at BBC Broadcasting House in London with Radio Drama veteran Adrian Scarborough as guest speaker with ALison Hindell, Head of Audio Drama hosting. Among the attendees were judges actor Jason Barnett and agent Geoff Stanton.

(((soundstart))) comprises two important awards: The BBC Norman Beaton Fellowship and BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary, both exist to bring new voices into radio drama.

The Carleton Hobbs Bursaries are aimed at students graduating from regular (or post-graduate) courses run by accredited drama schools across the country, : ALRA, Arts Educational Schools, Birmingham School of Acting, Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, Central School of Speech and Drama, Drama Studio London, Drama Centre, East 15, Guildford School of Acting, Guildhall, Italia Conti Academy, LAMDA, Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts (LIPA), Manchester School of Theatre, Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, The Oxford School of Drama, RADA, Rose Bruford College, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama. 

The Norman Beaton Fellowship is for applicants from non-traditional training backgrounds, and run in partnership with a range of theatres across the UK to source the winners. This year's theatres were: Birmingham Repertory Theatre, Citizens Theatre, Glasgow, Freedom Studios, Bradford, Kabosh Theatre, Belfast, Kneehigh Theatre in collaboration with Hall for Cornwall, National Youth Theatre Rep, London, Talawa, London, Tamasha, London, Theatr Clwyd, Mold and Theatre Royal Stratford East, London.

The winners of both the Bursary and the Fellowship are each given a five-month contract with the Radio Drama Company, beginning on the 21 July 2018.

Adrian Scarborough and Alison Hindell at the BBC (((soundstart))) Awards 2018

Five 2018 Carleton Hobbs bursaries have been awarded to:

LIAM LAU FERNANDEZ (Drama Centre London)

Four finalists receive runners-up awards - and each of them will be cast as a freelance actor in one of our autumn/winter productions:

ANNABEL FACER (Oxford School of Drama)
FRANCHI WEBB (Royal Welsh College of Speech & Drama)

Chaired by Mary Peate, Producer Radio Drama, the judges comprised Peter Kavanagh, Malcolm Browning, Adrian Scarborough and Rebecca Wilmshurst.

The winners of the BBC Norman Beaton Fellowship 2018 are:


Both Jeanette and Lewis came to the event via a workshop with Freedom Studios, Bradford. They join the Radio Drama Company on Saturday 21st July 2018, along with this year’s BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award winners.

This year, the judges awarded two runners-up prizes to NBF finalists. ELINOR COLEMAN – Birmingham Repertory Theatre and NYLA LEVY – Tamasha, London. Each of them will be cast via a freelance engagement in one of Radio Drama's 2018-19 productions.

This year's Norman Beaton Fellowship judges were Emma Harding (Drama Producer and Chair), Gemma Jenkins (Drama Producer), Geoff Stanton (agent), Lucian Msamati (actor) and Rebecca Wilmshurst (Drama Production Executive). 

Congratulations to all the winners and runners up. Find out more about BBC Radio Drama (((soundstart))) on the website.


Tagged with:

More Posts


BBC iPlayer Highlights 21-27 July 2018


Round up week 29 (14-20 July)