Jesus chooses the Twelve (Mark 3: 13–19)

Jesus chose twelve apostles who would learn from him and assist him in his mission.

The number twelve was symbolic as it represented the twelve tribes of Israel in Jewish scriptures.

The mission of the twelve was three fold - to preach, perform exorcisms (drive out evil spirits) and be with Jesus.

  • Simon Peter
  • James (Son of Zebedee)
  • John (Son of Zebedee)
  • Andrew
  • Philip
  • Bartholomew
  • Matthew
  • Thomas
  • James (Son of Alphaeus)
  • Thaddaeus
  • Simon
  • Judas Iscariot