The US federal government

There are three parts to the US federal government.

Visual guide to how the us constitution is broken down

The executive branch is the office of the president. The role of the president is to oversee the running of the country and suggest new laws to improve the USA.

The legislative branch is the law making part of the federal government.

  • Representatives from all 50 states meet at Congress (in Washington, D.C.)
  • Congress is split into two houses: the House of Representatives (the lower chamber) and the Senate (the upper chamber)
  • Unlike the president, members of the House of Representatives and the Senate can remain in power for as long as they continue to be elected
  • The Senate comprises of 100 elected members. Each state – regardless of geographical size or population – returns two Senators to Washington, D.C.
  • Each senator is elected on a six year term. One-third of the Senate are elected every two years
  • All 435 members of the House of Representatives are elected on a two year term and serve the people of the congressional district they represent

The judiciary is the Supreme Court

  • The Supreme Court is the highest court in the USA
  • Americans can appeal to it if they feel their constitutional rights have been denied
  • It has the power to assess laws
  • It consists of nine Supreme Court Justices
  • Unlike the other branches of the federal government, Supreme Court Justices are not elected