In the build up to war, the southern confederate German states voluntarily joined the Prussian-controlled Northern German Confederation. Germany was now unified.

Map of the German States in 1871Map of German states in 1871

The Treaty of Frankfurt

The Franco-Prussian war was ended on 10th May with the signing of the Treaty of Frankfurt.

  • the border between France and Germany was established
  • France lost the territory of Alsace-Lorraine on its border with Germany
  • it also had to pay Germany £200 million in compensation.
  • a new imperial constitution was set up within the now unified German states
  • Wilhelm I, was officially recognised as Emperor (Kaiser) of the German Empire
Move on to Test