Election results

The first elections for the new power sharing Assembly were held in June 1973.

The results were as follows:

PartyPro- or Anti- Power-sharingPercentage of vote (%)Number of seats won
Faulkner UnionistsPro29.324
UUUC UnionistsAnti32.126
SDLP (Social Democratic and Labour Party)Pro22.119
APNI (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)Pro9.28
NILP (Northern Ireland Labour Party)Pro2.61

The results showed that:

  • The parties in favour of power sharing had won the most seats.
  • The number of unionists elected who were against power sharing was greater than the number of pro-power sharing unionists elected.