The stages of mitosis in detail

Mitosis is a type of cell division in which a diploid body cell copies itself and finally divides into two identical diploid daughter cells. The daughter cells are clones of each other. Every base pair of their DNA is identical.

The stages of the cell cycle are:

StageWhat happens
InterphaseThe cell spends most of its life in this phase. The DNA in chromosomes copies itself ready for mitosis.
ProphaseThe DNA in chromosomes and their copies condenses to become more visible. The membrane around the nucleus disappears.
MetaphaseChromosomes and their copies line up in the middle of the cell.
AnaphaseChromosomes and their copies are pulled to different ends of the cell.
TelophaseNew membranes form around the chromosomes at each end of the cell.
CytokinesisThe cell membrane pinches in and eventually divides into two daughter cells.

The stages of mitosis are: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase.

Only two pairs of chromosomes are shown in the diagrams below. There are 23 pairs of chromosomes in a diploid human body cell.

The cell undergoes a type of cell division called mitosis