Elections to the House of Commons

How seats are won in the houses of common.

Inside the House of Commons
Inside the House of Commons

Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected every five years at a General Election. For the purposes of the General Election, the country is divided into 650 constituencies or areas. Each constituency elects one MP to Parliament. The last General Election in the UK was held on Thursday 8th June 2017.

At the 2017 General Election Scotland returned 59 MPs:

  • 35 SNP
  • 13 Conservative
  • 7 Labour
  • 4 Liberal Democrat