Mendeleev’s Periodic Table

In 1869, the Russian chemist, Dmitri Mendeleev published a Periodic Table that forms the basis of the one we use today.

Mendeleev’s Periodic Table was different from those of other scientists in two important ways:

  • he arranged the elements in order of increasing atomic weight.
  • he left gaps where no element fitted the repeating pattern. These gaps were for undiscovered elements.
Six rows, eight columns showing H, Li, Be, B, C, N, O, F. Na, Mg, Al, Si, P, S, Cl, K,  Ca, Ti, V, Cr. Fe, Co, Ni and Cu. (Cu), Zn, As, So, B,  Rb, Sr, Yt, Zr, Nb, Mo, Ru. Rh, Pd and Ag.Mendeleev's Periodic Table