British climate

Britain has a mild climate. It is in the temperate climatic zone and the sea affects the weather. In general, this means that Britain gets cool, wet winters and warm, wet summers. The weather conditions are also very changeable.

Britain is divided into four key climate areas. The south east has cold winters and warm summers, the south west has mild winters and warm summers, the North East has cold winters and cool summers, the North West has mild winters and cool summers.

Climate can change from place to place and from time to time. The British Isles experiences four seasons:

  • Spring - March to May
  • Summer - June to August
  • Autumn - September to November
  • Winter - December to February

Temperature and rainfall also vary between different parts of the British Isles.