Seven sacraments

The sacraments are rituals that teach, strengthen and express faith. They are relevant to all areas and stages of life, and Catholics believe that the love and gifts of God are given through seven sacraments, which are:

  • Baptism
  • Eucharist
  • Confirmation
  • Reconciliation
  • Anointing of the sick
  • Marriage
  • Holy orders

Catholics believe that Christians are made holy by carrying out these acts, and that the rites lead to a strengthening of humanity’s connection with God.

The seven sacraments touch all stages and all important moments of Christian life.Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210
Visualisation of the seven sacraments: Baptism; Eucharist; Confirmation; Annointing of the Sick; Marriage; Reconciliation; Holy Orders.