Vegetarians

Someone preparing a salad

According to the Vegetarian Society, a vegetarian is someone who lives on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, fruit and vegetables with or without the use of dairy products and eggs.

A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products of slaughter.

Types of vegetarian

Lacto-ovo vegetarian: a vegetarian who eats dairy products and eggs but does not eat meat.

Lacto-vegetarian: a vegetarian who eats dairy products but avoids eggs.

Vegan: a vegetarian who does not eat dairy products, eggs or any other products that are derived from animals.

curriculum-key-fact
Gelatine is an ingredient used in a range of food products such as sweets, desserts and low-fat products. It is made from animal ligaments, tendons and bones. Many vegetarians choose to avoid gelatine and it should therefore be listed on the ingredients label.
Child with a handful of sweets