There are two types of cell division called mitosis and meiosis. Mitosis produces identical diploid body cells for growth and repair. Meiosis produces haploid non-identical sex cells, or gametes. These fuse to form a diploid fertilised egg cell during fertilisation.

A diagram illustrating the process of meiosis and how it creates gametes

Meiosis produces sperm and egg cells in animals, and pollen and egg cells in plants.