The Five Pillars of Islam

In order to live according to the wishes of Allah and receive reward in Paradise, Muslims will attempt to undertake the five basic duties of Islam. These are known as the Five Pillars of Islam.

  1. Shahadah – the declaration of faith and the belief in one God, Allah
  2. Salah – praying five times a day at specific times
  3. Zakah – an act of worship, which means donating a percentage of one’s wealth to charity
  4. Sawm – fasting during the month of Ramadan
  5. Hajj – a special pilgrimage to Makkah (Mecca)
Muslims gather for Hajj in Makkah (Mecca) in Saudi Arabia

Many Muslims believe that their good deeds will count towards their place in Paradise, even if the rewards are not obvious in this life.

Muslims also stress the importance of humility, forgiveness, honesty and kindness. They believe Allah to be both kind and compassionate, and that Allah’s followers should behave in the same way. Being a Muslim is not just about praying and rituals, it is also about being good to others.