Saving your work

It is very important to save your work regularly. A saved piece of work is easily recovered if something goes wrong. To save your work use ‘Save’ or ‘Save As’ from the 'File' menu. Do not rely on auto save.

Choose 'Save As' from the 'File' menu to save a copy of your work

The first time you save your work the 'Save As' dialogue box will appear. Name your file and choose which folder to save it in. From now on, when you save your work it will overwrite the original file with your changes. To prevent this from happening, use ‘Save As’ from the 'File' menu to save a copy of your work.

Use 'Save As' to:

  • save something for the first time
  • save a copy or a different version of your work

Use 'Save' to:

  • save your changes (this will overwrite the original file)
  • save your work quickly
The 'Save As' dialogue box is used to save a copy of your work

You can use shortcut keys to save your work. In Windows press CTRL-S and in OSX press CMD-S.