The female reproductive system

The human female reproductive system contains these parts:

  • oviducts
  • ovaries
  • uterus
  • cervix
  • vagina
Shows the oviduct, ovary, uterus, bladder, cervix, vagina and urethraThe parts of the human female reproductive system. The bladder empties into the urethra but they are not part of the reproductive system


The two ovaries (one of them is called an ovary) contain hundreds of undeveloped female gametes (sex cells). These are called ova (one of them is called an ovum) or egg cells. Women have these cells in their bodies from birth, whereas men produce new sperm continually.


Each ovary is connected to the uterus by an oviduct. This is sometimes called a Fallopian tube or egg tube. The oviduct is lined with cilia, which are tiny hairs on cells. Every month, an egg develops, becomes mature and is released from an ovary. The cilia waft the egg along inside the oviduct and into the uterus.

Uterus and cervix

The uterus, also called the womb, is a muscular bag with a soft lining. The uterus is where a baby develops until its birth.

The cervix is a ring of muscle at the lower end of the uterus. It keeps the baby in place while the woman is pregnant.


The vagina is a muscular tube that leads from the cervix to the outside of the woman's body. A man's penis goes into the woman's vagina during sexual intercourse.