The electromagnetic spectrum

The electromagnetic spectrum consists of a group of radiations that all travel at the speed of light (\(3\times 10^{8},m\,s^{-1}\)).

In the middle of the EM spectrum is the visible spectrum consisting of a range of different colours of light:

  • Red
  • Orange
  • Yellow
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Indigo
  • Violet

There are many other parts of the EM spectrum that we cannot see.

The diagram below illustrates these parts.

Chart showing types of electromagnetic waves from radio to gamma rays, comparing wavelength and frequency.Chart showing types of electromagnetic waves