Animal Groups

Home learning focus

Learn about how animals are classified (sorted) into different groups.

This lesson includes:

  • six videos
  • two activities


There are lots and lots of different animals all over the world.

Each animal has been classified by scientists so it belongs to a group.

Discover some facts about each group by watching the clips below.

Discover all about amphibians with this clip.

Learn all about birds by watching the clip below.

Explore the sea and learn about fish with this clip.

What is a mammal? Find out by watching this clip.

Learn about minibeasts by watching this clip.

Watch the clip to learn all about reptiles.

Scientists can sort animals into different groups based on their features.

All animals within the same group have similar things in common such as being warm-blooded or cold-blooded!

For example: Animals such as elephants, cats and blue whales are all in the same group called mammals because they have hair.

The six main group of animals are:

  • Amphibians
  • Birds
  • Fish
  • Mammals
  • Minibeasts
  • Reptiles


There are lots of interesting things to find out about different animals:

Activity 1

Have a go at this activity about Mammals.

Activity 2

Try this sorting activity from Twinkl.

If you don't have a printer then use a blank piece of paper and some pencils or crayons to draw your own animals for each group!

Sort the animals into groups

There's more to learn

Have a look at these other resources around the BBC and the web.

Bitesize Daily lessons
KS1 Science
Galaxy Pugs
5-7 Science
Andy's Animal Teams