Related Links: British Council World DramaCompetitions Writer's Room   
International radio playwriting competition 2007

Old-fashioned radio



Please note that this is now closed and we are not accepting scripts or applications.

The BBC Playwriting Competition will be back for 2008/09 and it will be opening on the 20 October 2008, please keep an eye on the website for more details and get writing!

The response to this year's competition has been amazing. We had an unprecedented 1200 entries! After much consideration and deliberation, these are the results:


  • Prizewinner of English as a first language - Gordon Pengilly for "Seeing In The Dark" (Canada)

    Play broadcasts Saturday 3 November, 2007

  • Prizewinner of English as a second language - Bolaji Odofin for "Nature Calls" (Nigeria)

    Play broadcasts Saturday 10 November, 2007

Regional Prizewinners:

  • South Asia - Dean Barrett for "Bones of the Chinamen" (Thailand - English as first language)

  • Asia Pacific - Stephanie McCarthy for "Killing Oleander" (Australia - English as first language)

  • Russia and the Caucasus - Lasha Bughadze for "When Cabbies Are Attacked" (Georgia - English as a second language)

  • Europe - Vincent Vella for "The Pardon Beggars" (Malta - English as a second language)

Shortlisted Entries:

  • Bode Asiyanbi for "The Untold Story" (Nigeria)

  • Robin Blades for "John" (France)

  • Erin Browne for "A Meth Play" (USA)

  • Ron Finney for "Second Coming" (Australia)

  • Neil P Flynn for "Pantaloons" (Ireland)

  • Atar Hadari for "The Lonesome Death of Janis Joplin" (Israel)

  • Efo Kodjo Mawugbe for "Upstairs and Downstairs" (Ghana)

  • Anuvab Pal for "Chaos Theory" (India)

  • JT Robertson for "The War At Home" (USA)

  • RS Samson for "Dear Mr Lampard" (South Africa)

Highly Commended:

  • Vishnu PS Rai for "Reality" (Nepal)

  • Andrea Lorca for "Uncle Henry" (Chile)

  • Parnuphan Ongchaiwatana for "The Adventure of Samlee the Baby Goat" (Thailand)

  • Reuben Jayachandran Abraham for "Good Hope" (Oman)

  • Stanley Makuwe for "The Dead Shall Rise Again" (New Zealand)

  • José Eduardo Alcázar for "The House" (Paraguay)

  • Amuda Iddi Muhammed for "The Al Janni" (n/a)

  • Miroslav Pavicevic for "The Splotch" (Serbia)

  • Vipul Rikhi for "In Hot Water" (India)

  • Mila Djordevic for "Love, This Kind of Trash Doesn?t Exist" (Serbia)

  • Maria Elner for "Ghost of a Stray Dog" (Ireland)

  • Ian Macneill for "Bobbing Along" (Australia)

  • Chiori Miyagawa for "Broken Morning (Stories from the Death Row Factory)" (USA)
  • Jennifer N Kim for "It May As Well Have Rained" (New Zealand)

  • Neil Stoneham for "Secrets and Smiles" (Thailand)

  • TN Odu for "Child Soldiers" (Nigeria)

  • Amanda B Holiday for "A Blue Bird" (South Africa)

  • Elan Gamaker for "Next Year In Jerusalem" (South Africa)

  • Finuala Dowling for "Not A Hundred and Four" (South Africa)

  • Abiola Hameed for "The Search" (Nigeria)

  • Svanur Gísli Thorkelsson for "The Hollow Reed" (Iceland)

  • Mohammed Sheriff for "Papa's Head" (Sierra Leone)

  • Ahmed Mohammed for "Ills of the Past" (Nigeria)

  • Kay Himmelstrup for "The Angel on the Blackboard" (Denmark)

  • Izet Bojicic for "Oxygen" (Bosnia Herzegovina)

  • Benson Udoh for "Fire in Her Eyes" (Nigeria)

  • Soji Cole for "Maybe Tomorrow" (Nigeria)

A huge thank you to everyone who took part.

The overall winning plays were recorded in October, 2007, and the playwrights invited to attend the production process and a prize-giving event.

^^ Back to top Back to Index >>