Arts & Culture

Last updated: 19 august, 2009 - 17:17 GMT

Highly commended and commended plays


Prizewinner of English as a first language

Erin Browne for Trying - USA

Prizewinner of English as a second language

Efo Kodjo Mawugbe for The Prison Graduates – Ghana

Regional Winners

Russia and the Caucuses

Vasil Bassa Janikashvili for On the Latch – Georgia

Asia Pacific

Anna Bennetts for Shift – Australia

South Asia

Meher Pestonji for Feeding Crows – India


Csaba Székely for Do you like Banana, Comrades? – Romania


Funmi Ade-Ajayi for Songs From the Wedding – Nigeria

Michael Aubertin for True Colours – St. Lucia

Libby Emmons for The Little Room – USA

Diana Estigarriba for Help Wanted – USA

Warren Lancelot D’Sylva for Saints – India

Alex Duval Smith for Password: Salamander – South Africa

Abdullah Alkafri for Damascus-Aleppo – Syria

Ike Aro for Money Matters – Nigeria

Karim Haidari for The Historical Summer – Afghanistan

Abiola Hameed for The Sixth Man – Nigeria

Virginia Jekanyika for Mbira – Zimbabwe

Mohamed Sheriff for The Demon – Sierra Leone

Highly Commended

Vincent Trueman for Touching Base - USA

El Elving for Histamine - USA

Aamina Naseer for To Flee, But Where? - USA

Namono Penrose for My Mirror - Uganda

Clare Sagiv for A Mother’s War - Israel

Shilpa Munikempanna for An Anagram of Life - India

Serban Anghene for Three in an Exile or Luxury Berth With a Sea View - Romania


Kenneth Antrobus for Union Joke - USA

Keith Hemstreet for The Superficial Transparency of Everything - USA

Michael Lew for People’s Park - USA

Humphrey Tyler for Miss Legs and Mister Moustache – South Africa

Robert H. Cochrane for Exit, Stage Death - Dubai

Bolaji Olatunde for A Requiem for Daniel Fregbo - Nigeria

Rory Kilalea for Witnesses - Zimbabwe

Jack Feldstein for The Sparkling City of Omar Mazen - Australia

Garrett Keogh for Echo Tango Tango - Ireland

Jennifer Harvey for How to Carve Small Figurines – The Netherlands

D.L. Kung for Dear Mr Rogge - Switzerland

Paul Till for Blue Envelope Time – Czech Republic

Shane Perez for The Mail Order Bride - Ireland

Yla Aalia Smetacek for Indian Summer - India

Paul Brodowsky for Fish Soup - Germany

Sheraz Khan Niazi for Where Ceutan Children Lie - USA

Enid Grace Parker for Blood and Sand - India

Annie Zaidi for Epicenter - India

Abhishek Majumdar for Harlsden High Street - India

Ezeaka Ikenna Chidubem for The Rich Pot - Nigeria

George Nyabuga for I Just Called to Say No - Kenya

Muammer Adnan Yildirim for Voice of a Judge - Turkey

Joseph Vella Bondin for Let’s Go to Kathmandu - Malta

John Hoelen for The Interviews - Belgium

Najwa Yassir for The Meeting Room – The Netherlands

Adam Lazar for Odd Man Out - Hungary

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.