Martyn Joseph - Deep Blue

Martyn Joseph

Sixteenth studio album from prolific singer-songwriter.
Pipe Records: 15 November 2005

Last updated: 20 November 2008

Now on his 16th studio album (his 22nd in total, including live collections, compilations and collaborations), Martyn Joseph's Deep Blue retains the no-frills, few overdubs policy established on his previous album Whoever It Was That Brought Me Here.

Deep Blue cover
  • Some Of Us
  • Can't Breathe
  • Six Sixty Six
  • How Did We End Up Here
  • I Would Never Do Anything In
  • This World To Hurt You
  • This Fragile World
  • Yet Still This Will Not Be
  • Proud Valley Boy
  • Turn Me Tender
  • Can't Breathe (Acoustic)

It leads to a live, often intimate sound based around a core of guitar, piano, drums and vocals.

In the devil-baiting Six Sixty Six, the anti-war How Did We End Up Here and the weary despair of Yet Still This Will Not Be, there's a thread of repugnance running through Deep Blue. Martyn even laments the changing face of Wales, in Proud Valley Boy where "Health spas where the body shines/Have now entombed the dripping mines". But there's hope at its heart, most notably in the search for salvation and better days in Turn Me Tender.

One of his finest releases to date, Deep Blue will be loved by Martyn Joseph's ever-growing and loyal following. And with the likes of James Blunt and David Gray making a mint from sensitive songs, there's clearly a bigger prize for the taking. Major labels? Who needs them anyway?

Words: Joe Goodden

BBC Music

Pop concert

Pop and chart

All the latest pop and chart news and reviews from BBC Music.


Gruff Rhys


A-Z of Welsh language artists with biogs, sessions, reviews and gigs.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.