Jem - Finally Woken


Roll over Joss Stone - Penarth's Jem Griffiths has already conquered America on the quiet. Now she's coming here...
ATO: 11 October 2004

Last updated: 20 November 2008

Comparisons with Dido have already been bandied about rather indiscriminately, but Penarth's Jem is a rather more alluring proposition. For a start, she's well versed in the hip hop and breaks scene, and was a DJ at South Wales' acclaimed Hustler nights.


  • They
  • Come On Closer
  • Finally Woken
  • Save Me
  • 24
  • Missing You
  • Wish I
  • Just A Ride
  • Falling For You
  • Stay Now
  • Flying High

Already her songs have caused a quiet storm in America, with appearances in The OC and Desperate Housewives - in 2004 she was the biggest British female debut artist in the States.

Kicking off with the dark paranoia of debut single They, Finally Woken is a genre-hopping music box full of audible riches.

Although Ms Griffiths' dolorous vocal style may not be to everyone's taste, the strength of songs such as the dub-fuelled Save Me, the Caribbean-esque Wish I and the daisy age title track never fails to shine through.

A promising beginning pointing the way to bigger things.

Words: Joe Goodden

BBC Music

Pop concert

Pop and chart

All the latest pop and chart news and reviews from BBC Music.


Gruff Rhys


A-Z of Welsh language artists with biogs, sessions, reviews and gigs.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.