Ffa Coffi Pawb biography

Ffa Coffi Pawb

Last updated: 18 November 2008

The influential pre-Super Furry Animals outfit.

The name translates as 'everybody's coffee beans', though it means something quite different phonetically. "You don't really want me to pronounce it on radio," Gruff once told Jonathan Ross.


  • Gruff Rhys: vocals, guitar
  • Rhodri Puw: guitar
  • Dewi Emlyn: bass
  • Dafydd Ieuan: drums

Ffa Coffi signed to Ankst, and for a time became the highest-profile band in Wales. They released three albums - Clymhalio, Dalec Peilon and Hei Vidal!, as well as a a live tape - Angylion - with The Crumblowers. It was recorded at a Cardiff club in August 1988.

Mostly forsaking musical experimentation in favour of solid songwriting, Ffa Coffi Pawb enjoyed their biggest success and artistic peak with Hei Vidal! However, they split up soon after its release.

Post Ffa Coffi, Gruff and drummer Daf went on to form the basis of SFA, Rhodri Puw replaced John Lawrence in Gorky's Zygotic Mynci, and Dewi Emlyn is currently tour manager for Gorky's and the Super Furries. A Ffa Coffi Pawb best-of, Am Byth, was released in August 2004.

BBC Music

Rock guitarist

Rock and indie

All the latest rock and indie highlights from BBC Music.


Image: Kimberley Noi

Join our group

Showcase your Welsh music images on our Flickr group.


Gruff Rhys


A-Z of Welsh language artists with biogs, sessions, reviews and gigs.

Festivals and events



Get all the lowdown on some of Wales' key festivals and events.

How to...

Crowd at a gig

Go to the show

Our guide to where to find gigs and concerts in your area.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.