BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

16 October 2014
Big Fat Problem

BBC Homepage
Wales Home
Education


Big Fat Problem

Worth Their Weight

Big Fat Successes

Take It Away

Help Yourself

Cymraeg


Contact Us

Web Guide
tape measureWeb Guide
Links to many useful sites...

Recommended amounts of all food groups
FSA - Eat well, be Well- www.eatwell.gov.uk
BBC Health - Nutrition basics - www.bbc.co.uk/health

What's a portion?
FSA - nutrition essentials - www.eatwell.gov.uk

Vitamins and minerals
NHS Direct - www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk
FSA Vitamins and Minerals - www.eatwell.gov.uk
BBC Health - Vitamins - www.bbc.co.uk/health

Why 5 a day?
FSA - Fruit and Veg - www.eatwell.gov.uk
BBC Health - Fruit and vegetables - www.bbc.co.uk/health

Healthy Eating
BBC Health - Nutrition - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Food - www.bbc.co.uk/food
BBC One Life - Health - www.bbc.co.uk/onelife/health
FSA - Healthy diet - www.eatwell.gov.uk
BNF - www.nutrition.org.uk

Vegetarians
BBC Food - vegetarian and vegan recipes - www.bbc.co.uk/food
BBC Health - Advice and information on vegetarianism - www.bbc.co.uk/health
FSA - Eat well, be well - vegetarian and vegan - www.eatwell.gov.uk/healthydiet
Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom - An impressive site on vegetarianism, with a help section for new vegetarians - www.vegsoc.org
The Vegan Society - www.vegansociety.com

What about water?
FSA - Eat well, be well - drinks - www.eatwell.gov.uk
BBC Health - Drinks - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Health - Water - www.bbc.co.uk/health

Measuring up
BBC Health - your weight - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BMI calculator - www.bbc.co.uk/bigfatproblem
FSA - Eat well, be well - healthy weight - www.eatwell.gov.uk

Fitness
Fitness Wales - www.fitnesswales.co.uk
Sports Council for Wales - www.sports-council-wales.co.uk
BBC Health - Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/health/fitness
BBC Health - Daily Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/health/fitness
BBC Health - Exercise, how much do you need? - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Health - In the Gym - www.bbc.co.uk/health/fitness
Walking the Way to Health Wales - www.ww2h.org.uk
Zest magazine - www.zest.co.uk

Gyms and leisure Centres
BBC SW Wales - Health and Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest
BBC NW Wales - Health and Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/wales/northwest
BBC NE Wales - Health and Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/wales/northeast
BBC Mid Wales - Health and Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid
BBC SE Wales - Health and Fitness - www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southeast
Sports Council for Wales - National Centres - www.sports-council-wales.co.uk
Sports Council for Wales - Leisure centre links - www.sports-council-wales.co.uk
David Lloyd - www.davidlloydleisure.co.uk (Cardiff Only)
Fitness First - www.fitnessfirst.com (Cardiff, Newport and Wrexham)
Esporta - www.esporta.com (South Wales only)
Living Well - www.livingwell.co.uk
Total Fitness - www.totalfitness.org (Wrexham only)

Slimming clubs
Fatmanslim - Men only diet club - www.fatmanslim.com
Rosemary Conley Diet and Fitness Class - www.rosemary-conley.co.uk
WeightWatchers - www.weightwatchers.co.uk
Slimming World - www.slimmingworld.co.uk
Carnegie Weight Management - www.carnegieweightmanagement.com
The Online Slimming Club - www.onlineslimmingclub.co.uk
Welsh Slim - www.welshslim
Scottish Slimmers - www.positive-eating.com
Slimtone - www.slimtone.co.uk

Motivation
BBC Health - Get motivated www.bbc.co.uk/health/fitness
BBC Health - Get active - www.bbc.co.uk/health/fitness
BBC Health - Willpower - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Raise Your Game - Motivation - www.bbc.co.uk/raiseyourgame
BBC Health - Get confident - www.bbc.co.uk/health

Body Image
BBC Health - Style tips for men - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Health - Style tips for women - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Relationships - Improving your confidence - www.bbc.co.uk/relationships
BBC Health - Self Esteem - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Health - Confidence Building Online Course - www.bbc.co.uk/health
BBC Health - Wellbeing - www.bbc.co.uk/health
FSA - Eat well, be well - Your Body Shape - www.eatwell.gov.uk

Organisations
British Heart Foundation - www.bhf.org.uk
Food Standards Agency - Nutrition - www.foodstandards.gov.uk
NHS Direct - www.nhsdirect.wales.nhs.uk
Fitness Wales - www.fitnesswales.co.uk
Sports Council for Wales - www.sports-council-wales.co.uk
Welsh Assembly Government, Chief Medical Officer Wales - www.cmo.wales.gov.uk
British Nutrition Foundation - www.nutrition.org.uk
British Dietetic Association - www.bda.uk.com

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


BMI Calculator
Portion Guidelines
Web Guide
Food and Fitness Diary (PDF)
Weight Record (PDF)
Advice Booklet (PDF)
Big Fat Form

Get help installing acrobat reader
Help yourself
Help yourselfShare your experiences on the messageboard or read the live chat transcripts. See what our experts were asked and the advice they gave.
Big fat successes
404 Not Found

Not Found

The requested URL /cgi-bin/call_tip3/wales/bigfatproblem_success/ was not found on this server.



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy