How can I delete my information?

Page updated: 25 May 2018

This is called the right to erasure, also known as the "right to be forgotten". This right means you can ask for your personal information to be deleted.

If you have a BBC account

You can delete your BBC account at any time.

This will erase any personal information in your account that we have about you. And it will mean any data about how you've used the BBC online will be made anonymous.

Deleting your account won't delete any data you've shared with the BBC for reasons that aren't connected with your BBC account. For example, if you apply for tickets to BBC Shows, Tours & Take Part, the production or ticketing provider will keep your information to manage that service and tell you about future shows you might like (but only if you've asked to be kept updated). It also doesn't cover any comments published online.

What about other information?

This depends on the type of personal information we hold.

Sometimes we can delete your information, but other times it's just not possible, like if the law tells us we can't. If that's the case, we'll consider if we can limit how we use it.

Before you make a request, you might want to check our guidance to understand how we approach this in our news articles, programming and other content.

Then, you can contact us and we'll consider the reasons why you want us to delete.

Bear in mind, when we get back to you, we might need some identification to check that you are who you say you are.

There might be occasions where we can't fulfil a request.

Choose language: CymraegGàidhlig