[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Twilight Sad

BBC Introducing

Live at T in the Park 2009

The Adobe Flash player and Javascript are required in order to view a video which appears on this page. You may wish to download the Adobe Flash player.

Formed in late 2003, The Twilight Sad comprises James Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane, (guitar/accordion/noise), Craig Orzel (bass), and Mark Devine (drums). The band began by playing some half-hour pieces of music utilising tape loops, effects pedals, toy keyboards, thumb pianos, computer games and various other ephemera at Glasgow's 13th Note. They subsequently withdrew to the studio to refine their sound into something slightly more traditional, rejecting live show offers and morphing into an adventurous and emotive outfit.

Their debut album, Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters, recalled white-noise era Creation Records and drew from fellow Scots Arab Strap and Mogwai. Augmented by piano and accordion, the songs have a dramatic swoon, the band purveying an awestruck, ragged sentimentality in which deceptively simple songs are rendered magnificent and transcendent. But where the band's studio sound is intricately layered with delicate melodies, their live sound is a more intense 'wall of noise' experience.

With a new album already in the can and a tour with Mogwai lined-up, 2009 is looking like another busy year for The Twilight Sad.


Your Comments

No comments have been submitted yet.

Comments are no longer being accepted on this feature page.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.