Activites run by the bbc and partners

Things To Do - Activities

FRI 11 JUL

Kendo

Clements Hall Leisure Complex, Hawkwell

Run by: Soushinkan Kendo Dojo

Come and try the traditional Japanese martial art of Kendo - Japanese sword fencing.

clock19:00–21:00

Suitable for 7+

BBC Sport Get Inspired
  • Parking not available at this location
  • Toilets available at this location
  • Disabled toilets not available at this location
  • Disabled access available at this location
  • Baby changing not available at this location
  • Food not available at this location
  • Picnic Area not available at this location
  •  Dogs are not welcome at this location
Kendo Practice

Add to calendar

Shinai Kendo was born out of a necessity to train. During a time in Japan live blades were outlawed and the Samurai Class needed a non lethal and legal way to continue their martial art.

A physical but very rewarding martial art. Today Kendo has developed into a competitive
sport enjoyed by many millions of people around the world and is generally
recognised as one of the best forms of mind, body and spirit training.

Disclaimer

Activities are not organised by the BBC unless stated otherwise. Neither is the BBC responsible for the accuracy of the information provided. If you are under 18, ask your parent/guardian before taking part in any activity.

Other Dates

This activity also runs on these dates:

  1. Fri 18 Jul 19:00–21:00
  2. Fri 25 Jul 19:00–21:00
  3. Fri 1 Aug 19:00–21:00
  4. Fri 8 Aug 19:00–21:00
  5. Fri 15 Aug 19:00–21:00
  6. Fri 22 Aug 19:00–21:00
  7. Fri 29 Aug 19:00–21:00
  8. Fri 5 Sep 19:00–21:00
  9. Fri 12 Sep 19:00–21:00
  10. Fri 19 Sep 19:00–21:00
  11. Fri 26 Sep 19:00–21:00
  12. Fri 3 Oct 19:00–21:00
  13. Fri 10 Oct 19:00–21:00
  14. Fri 17 Oct 19:00–21:00
  15. Fri 24 Oct 19:00–21:00
  16. Fri 31 Oct 19:00–21:00
  17. Fri 7 Nov 19:00–21:00
  18. Fri 14 Nov 19:00–21:00
  19. Fri 21 Nov 19:00–21:00
  20. Fri 28 Nov 19:00–21:00
  21. Fri 5 Dec 19:00–21:00
  22. Fri 12 Dec 19:00–21:00
  23. Fri 19 Dec 19:00–21:00
  24. Fri 2 Jan 19:00–21:00

Cost

Initial cost £7.00 for first few weeks then £28.00 a month to cover the Friday sessions. All costs to cover hire of venues.

Accreditation

Member of the Eikoku Kendo Renmei.

Venue

+ Enlarge map - Shrink map

Clements Hall Leisure Complex

Clements Hall Way, Hawkwell, SS5 4LN

Contact

This activity is organised and run by Soushinkan Kendo Dojo.

Activities near here

  • SAT 19 JUL

    Great British Tennis Weekend

    David Lloyd Club Southend, Southend-On-Sea

    Run by: Lawn Tennis Association

    Come and enjoy our open day from 14.00 with free tennis activities for all ages and abilities with sessions for adults and juniors as w…

  • SUN 20 JUL

    Great British Tennis Weekend

    David Lloyd Club Southend, Southend-On-Sea

    Run by: Lawn Tennis Association

    Come and enjoy our open day from 14:00 with free tennis activity for all ages and abilities with sessions for adults and juniors as wel…

  • SUN 10 AUG

    The Kirste 5 Memorial Races

    Grove Wood Primary School, Rayleigh

    Run by: Benfleet Running Club

    The Kirste One Mile Family Run and The Kirste Five Walk and Run. A charming five mile route heading to Hockley Woods, returning throug…

More BBC Sport Get Inspired related activities

Encouraging participation in sport and fitness activities across the UK.

Visit the BBC Sport Get Inspired website

Become a partner

Become a partner

Does your not-for-profit or publicly funded organisation run activities that could feature here?