Activites run by the bbc and partners

Things To Do - Activities

FRI 7 AUG

Kendo

Rayleigh Leisure Centre, Rayleigh

Run by: Soushinkan Kendo Dojo

Come and try the traditional Japanese martial art of Kendo - Japanese sword fencing.

clock19:00–21:00

Suitable for 7+

BBC Get Inspired
  • Parking not available at this location
  • Toilets available at this location
  • Disabled toilets not available at this location
  • Disabled access available at this location
  • Baby changing not available at this location
  • Food not available at this location
  • Picnic Area not available at this location
  •  Dogs are not welcome at this location
Kendo Practice

Add to calendar

Shinai Kendo was born out of a necessity to train. During a time in Japan live blades were outlawed and the Samurai Class needed a non lethal and legal way to continue their martial art.

A physical but very rewarding martial art. Today Kendo has developed into a competitive
sport enjoyed by many millions of people around the world and is generally recognised as one of the best forms of mind, body and spirit training.

Disclaimer

Activities are not organised by the BBC unless stated otherwise. Neither is the BBC responsible for the accuracy of the information provided. If you are under 18, ask your parent/guardian before taking part in any activity.

Other Dates

This activity also runs on these dates:

  1. Fri 14 Aug 19:00–21:00
  2. Fri 21 Aug 19:00–21:00
  3. Fri 28 Aug 19:00–21:00
  4. Fri 4 Sep 19:00–21:00
  5. Fri 11 Sep 19:00–21:00
  6. Fri 18 Sep 19:00–21:00
  7. Fri 25 Sep 19:00–21:00
  8. Fri 2 Oct 19:00–21:00
  9. Fri 9 Oct 19:00–21:00
  10. Fri 16 Oct 19:00–21:00
  11. Fri 23 Oct 19:00–21:00
  12. Fri 30 Oct 19:00–21:00
  13. Fri 6 Nov 19:00–21:00
  14. Fri 13 Nov 19:00–21:00
  15. Fri 20 Nov 19:00–21:00
  16. Fri 27 Nov 19:00–21:00
  17. Fri 4 Dec 19:00–21:00
  18. Fri 11 Dec 19:00–21:00
  19. Fri 18 Dec 19:00–21:00
  20. Fri 8 Jan 19:00–21:00

Cost

Initial cost £7.00 for first few weeks then £28.00 a month to cover the Friday sessions. All costs to cover hire of venues.

Accreditation

Member of the Eikoku Kendo Renmei.

Venue

+ Enlarge map - Shrink map

Rayleigh Leisure Centre

Priory Chase, Rawreth Lane, Rayleigh, SS6 9NF

Contact

This activity is organised and run by Soushinkan Kendo Dojo.

Activities near here

  • FRI 7 AUG

    Rider Development Session Women and Girls - Morning

    Hadleigh Farm, Essex

    Run by: British Cycling

    Go-Ride provides a fun and safe way to introduce young people to cycle sport. Activities take place in traffic-free environments and ar…

  • FRI 7 AUG

    Rider Development Session Women and Girls - Afternoon

    Hadleigh Farm, Essex

    Run by: British Cycling

    Go-Ride provides a fun and safe way to introduce young people to cycle sport. Activities take place in traffic-free environments and ar…

  • WED 12 AUG

    Go-Ride Mountain Bike Holiday Programme

    Hadleigh Park, Benfleet

    Run by: British Cycling

    Go-Ride provides a fun and safe way to introduce young people to cycle sport. Activities take place in traffic-free environments and ar…

More activities

Encouraging participation in sport and fitness activities across the UK.

Visit the BBC Get Inspired website