BBC - Things To Do: Kendo

FRI 19 SEP

Kendo

Clements Hall Leisure Complex, Hawkwell

Run by: Soushinkan Kendo Dojo

Come and try the traditional Japanese martial art of Kendo - Japanese sword fencing.

clock19:00–21:00

Suitable for 7+

  • Parking not available at this location
  • Toilets available at this location
  • Disabled toilets not available at this location
  • Disabled access available at this location
  • Baby changing not available at this location
  • Food not available at this location
  • Picnic Area not available at this location
  •  Dogs are not welcome at this location

BBC Sport Get Inspired

Details

Shinai Kendo was born out of a necessity to train. During a time in Japan live blades were outlawed and the Samurai Class needed a non lethal and legal way to continue their martial art. A physical but very rewarding martial art. Today Kendo has developed into a competitive sport enjoyed by many millions of people around the world and is generally recognised as one of the best forms of mind, body and spirit training.

Other Dates

This activity also runs on these dates:

  1. Fri 26 Sep 19:00–21:00
  2. Fri 3 Oct 19:00–21:00
  3. Fri 10 Oct 19:00–21:00
  4. Fri 17 Oct 19:00–21:00
  5. Fri 24 Oct 19:00–21:00
  6. Fri 31 Oct 19:00–21:00
  7. Fri 7 Nov 19:00–21:00
  8. Fri 14 Nov 19:00–21:00
  9. Fri 21 Nov 19:00–21:00
  10. Fri 28 Nov 19:00–21:00
  11. Fri 5 Dec 19:00–21:00
  12. Fri 12 Dec 19:00–21:00
  13. Fri 19 Dec 19:00–21:00
  14. Fri 2 Jan 19:00–21:00

Cost

Initial cost £7.00 for first few weeks then £28.00 a month to cover the Friday sessions. All costs to cover hire of venues.

Accreditation

Member of the Eikoku Kendo Renmei.

Venue

© 2011 Microsoft

Clements Hall Leisure Complex

Clements Hall Way, Hawkwell, SS5 4LN

Contact

This activity is organised and run by Soushinkan Kendo Dojo.

Disclaimer

The BBC does not check activity providers and these activities are not organised by the BBC, unless stated otherwise. Neither is the BBC responsible for the accuracy of information provided. If you are under 18, ask your parent/guardian before taking part in any activity.

More activities

Near here

BBC Sport Get Inspir…

Find Things To Do

  • Find by location By location