Activites run by the bbc and partners

Things To Do - Activities

THU 6 NOV

Chi Gung / Qigong Classes

Viables Community Centre, Basingstoke

Run by: White Oak Aikido

Gentle movements/practices to relieve stress, increase energy and improve well-being. These ancient Chinese exercises are directly relevant to help alleviate the pressures of today's high-stress world

clock10:00–11:30

Suitable for 18+

BBC Sport Get Inspired
  • Parking available at this location
  • Toilets available at this location
  • Disabled toilets not available at this location
  • Disabled access not available at this location
  • Baby changing not available at this location
  • Food available at this location
  • Picnic Area not available at this location
  •  Dogs are not welcome at this location
Chi Gung outdoors

Add to calendar

Chi Gung produces a range of benefits for your mind, body and energy (chi) including:

Relieving stress
Strengthening your nervous system
Relaxing your mind and body
Balancing/increasing your energy
Enhancing your body awareness

Practices include:

Dragon and Tiger: Movements to stimulate and balance the flow of chi.
Standing: Works with body alignments to improve the smooth flow of chi, internal awareness and posture, and reduce tension.
Outer Dissolving: Techniques to dissolve physical and energetic blockages.
Cloud Hands: A slow exercise to integrate the body physically and energetically.

Disclaimer

Activities are not organised by the BBC unless stated otherwise. Neither is the BBC responsible for the accuracy of the information provided. If you are under 18, ask your parent/guardian before taking part in any activity.

Other Dates

This activity also runs on these dates:

  1. Thu 13 Nov 10:00–11:30
  2. Thu 20 Nov 10:00–11:30
  3. Thu 27 Nov 10:00–11:30
  4. Thu 4 Dec 10:00–11:30
  5. Thu 11 Dec 10:00–11:30
  6. Thu 18 Dec 10:00–11:30
  7. Thu 8 Jan 10:00–11:30
  8. Thu 15 Jan 10:00–11:30
  9. Thu 22 Jan 10:00–11:30
  10. Thu 29 Jan 10:00–11:30
  11. Thu 5 Feb 10:00–11:30
  12. Thu 12 Feb 10:00–11:30
  13. Thu 19 Feb 10:00–11:30
  14. Thu 26 Feb 10:00–11:30
  15. Thu 5 Mar 10:00–11:30
  16. Thu 12 Mar 10:00–11:30
  17. Thu 19 Mar 10:00–11:30
  18. Thu 26 Mar 10:00–11:30
  19. Thu 2 Apr 10:00–11:30
  20. Thu 9 Apr 10:00–11:30
  21. Thu 16 Apr 10:00–11:30
  22. Thu 23 Apr 10:00–11:30
  23. Thu 30 Apr 10:00–11:30
  24. Fri 1 May 10:00–11:30
  25. Fri 8 May 10:00–11:30
  26. Fri 15 May 10:00–11:30
  27. Fri 22 May 10:00–11:30
  28. Fri 29 May 10:00–11:30

Cost

Your first class is free.
Then £6.00 a class; six classes £30.00, ten classes £45.00.

Difficulty level

  1. Taster Session
  2. Beginner
  3. Intermediate
  4. Advanced

Accreditation

2008 - Certified as a Level I Instructor of Dragon and Tiger Chi Gung (Energy Arts).
2009 - Certified as a Level 1 Instructor of Opening the Energy Gates of Your Body Chi Gung (Energy Arts).
Member of the Federation of Holistic Therapists.

Venue

+ Enlarge map - Shrink map

Viables Community Centre

The Harrow Way, Basingstoke, RG22 4BJ

www.viables.org.uk/

Meeting point: Osborne Room Just off the main Viables car park, down past the sweet shop.

About this location

Viables Community Association is a volunteer led charity serving the local community. We have a variety of event spaces Show more… available for hire. This results in not only use by private individuals but multiple classes and activities being run.Show less…

Viables Community Association is a volunteer led charity serving the local community. We have a variety of event spaces available for hire. This results in not only use by private individuals but multiple classes and activities being run.

Contact

This activity is organised and run by White Oak Aikido.

Activities near here

More BBC Sport Get Inspired related activities

Encouraging participation in sport and fitness activities across the UK.

Visit the BBC Sport Get Inspired website

Become a partner

Become a partner

Does your not-for-profit or publicly funded organisation run activities that could feature here?