BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

13 November 2014

BBC Homepage

Local BBC Sites

Neighbouring Sites

Related BBC Sites

Contact Us


You are in: Suffolk > BBC Radio Suffolk > Features > Double award winners

Double award winners

BBC Suffolk has added two awards to its ever-growing trophy cabinet, with Jon Wright named Radio Journalist of the Year and the Breakfast Show picking up the best News/Current Affairs Programme gong at the EDF Media Awards.

Jon Wright, Emily Anderson, Rob Dunger, Mark Murphy and Linda Walker

Jon Wright and the Breakfast Show team

Press from around the region gathered at Dunston Hall in Norfolk on Thursday 22 January 2009 for the EDF Energy East of England Media Awards.

Jon Wright was first to be called up to the podium, where Olympic gymnast Louis Smith was handing out the glass, paperweight style awards.

Praised for his "evocative" reporting, Jon's pieces on heroin users and a teenager who has three Asbos to his name saw him named Radio Journalist of the Year ahead of three nominees from BBC Radio Norfolk.

EDF's Laurent Ferrari, Jon Wright and Louis Smith

Jon Wright (centre) receives his award

"I was up against some really strong competition," Jon said shortly after the ceremony. "It wasn't until it all started that I felt a little bit nervous, but it's a huge relief when they read your name out."

Jon's hard-hitting reports were complemented by his light-hearted coverage of Bury St Edmunds' Christmas lights switch on - but all three shared the aim of reflecting what's happening in people's lives.

"I was looking to talk to people who don't normally get on the news. People who you wouldn't meet walking on the street, who you wouldn't meet socially, but who live here in Suffolk and whose lives do affect us."

Two in a row for Breakfast Show

The Breakfast Show also faced stiff competition from our Norfolk neighbours - with Breakfast with Bumfrey named as the other finalist in the News/Current Affairs Programme award.

Brekfast show team with EDF's Laurent Ferrari and gymnast Louis Smith

But Mark Murphy and his team's mix of news and laughter along with the Don't Be A Tosser campaign proved to be enough for them to keep hold of the award they also won the previous year.

"It's just great news for all of those who work on the show day in day out, and the listeners who come up trumps with stories for us on a daily basis," said Mark Murphy. "We couldn't do it without them.

"The awards in general show the importance of a strong local media who report on stories that affect our everyday lives."
Find out more about the Don't Be A Tosser campaign and read Jon Wright's feature on the teenager with three Asbos using the links on the right >>

last updated: 27/01/2009 at 16:21
created: 23/01/2009

Have Your Say

The BBC reserves the right to edit comments submitted.

Paul Moseley, BBC Radio Norfolk
Well done to the Breakfast team and in particular Jon.

You are in: Suffolk > BBC Radio Suffolk > Features > Double award winners

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy