Olympics water polo: United States secure maiden water polo gold

Media playback is not supported on this device

USA win Olympic water polo title

Maggie Steffens scored five times as the United States beat Spain 8-5 to win their first ever Olympic women's water polo title.

Spain twice led through captain Jennifer Pareja before their opponents took control in the second quarter.

Heather Petri, Melissa Seidemann and Brenda Villa also scored for the United States at the Water Polo Arena.

Earlier, Australia won the bronze medal after a dramatic 13-11 extra-time victory over Hungary.

The United States had secured two silvers and a bronze since women's water polo was introduced to the Games in Sydney in 2000.

But, after Steffens helped establish a five-goal lead at the end of the third quarter, there was never any doubt they would clinch gold this time.

Australia were made to work hard for their second successive Olympic bronze.

They led 8-4 but were taken into extra-time after Barbara Bujka equalised for Hungary with one second of normal time remaining, following an error by Alicia McCormack.

That made it 11-11 but Australia were not to be denied, Gemma Beadsworth scoring twice in extra-time to take her tally for the game to four goals.

Great Britain rounded off their campaign on Thursday by losing 11-7 to European gold medallists Italy, which meant the hosts finished eighth overall.

"It's our first Olympic Games and I think we have shown that we can keep up with the best," said head coach Szilveszter Fekete.

Final Results

Final results by Country
Rank Country Medal moment
1 Team USA
2 Spain
3 Australian Olympic Team

Top Stories

Get Inspired Activity Finder

Run by the BBC and partners

Find ways to get active near you: