11 December 2013 Last updated at 11:29

Sports Personality: AP McCoy caps National win in 2010

As BBC Sport celebrates 60 years of Sports Personality of the Year, we take a look at the archives to remember the achievements of all the previous winners.

In 2010, jockey AP McCoy was crowned Sports Personality of the Year.

McCoy had won almost every big race in his sport but never the Grand National. In 2009 this feat was accomplished at the 15th attempt as he rode Don't Push It to victory over the famous Aintree fences.

The 18-times champion jockey has gone on to ride over 4,000 winners.

You can vote for this year's BBC Sport Personality of the Year during the BBC1 show, either by phone or online. In order to vote online you will need to register, which you can do at any time. Find out more at bbc.co.uk/sportspersonality .

BBC Sports Personality of the Year will celebrate its 60th show when the 2013 event is broadcast live from Leeds on Sunday 15 December from 1940 GMT on BBC One. Further coverage on the BBC Sport website and Radio 5 live.