BBC announce 2011 Sports Personality of the Year top 10

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2011

  • Venue: Media City UK, Salford Quays
  • Date: Thursday, 22 December
  • Time: 2000 GMT

Coverage: BBC One, BBC Radio 5 Live & BBC Sport website

Gary Lineker reveals the Top 10 contenders on the One Show.

Ten of the UK's top sports stars have been nominated for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Hailing from four nations of the UK and representing six very different sports, the 10 have thrilled audiences around the world in 2011 and each now has a chance of being crowned the 58th BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

The winner will be selected by public vote during the live show on Thursday, 22 December from 2000 GMT.


It is one of the strongest fields I have ever seen during my time on the show and the race itself is too close to call

The shortlist (in alphabetical order) is: Mark Cavendish (cycling), Darren Clarke (golf), Alastair Cook (cricket), Luke Donald (golf), Mo Farah (athletics), Dai Greene (athletics), Amir Khan (boxing), Rory McIlroy (golf), Andy Murray (tennis), Andrew Strauss (cricket).

The shortlist of 10 contenders was put together by a panel of sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

Presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey, the show will broadcast live on BBC One from MediaCityUK, Salford, with some of the biggest names in world sport expected to attend.

The absence of women from the shortlist of nominees has been the main issue around the announcement but Humphrey, speaking to BBC Breakfast, is keen for it not to overshadow the achievements of those on the list.

"We've got some amazing women, it's disappointing but it is the way it is. It's not a sexist competition," he said.

Humphrey on lack of females on 2011 list

"Nothing should take anything away from these guys. Don't expect to not see the Solheim Cup and the England women's cricket team on the programme."

Lineker, who announced the list on The One Show, added: "It perhaps has not been as strong a year for women but I'm sure that will change next year with the Olympics with the likes of Jess Ennis and Rebecca Adlington."

He also pointed out that no footballers or rugby players had made the shortlist this year.

The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone; details of the numbers to vote on will be given out during the programme.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year, won in 2010 by jockey Tony McCoy  , there will also be awards for: Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Helen Rollason Award, Sports Unsung Hero.

Find out more about this year's top 10 contenders:

In pictures: Sports Personality top 10 

Mark Cavendish 

Darren Clarke 

Alastair Cook 

Luke Donald 

Mo Farah 

Dai Greene 

Amir Khan 

Rory McIlroy 

Andy Murray 

Andrew Strauss 

BBC Sports Personality of the Year top 10

The top 10 is chosen by sports experts from a range of publications