Winner of Sports Personality of the Year 2014, Lewis Hamilton shakes hands with second placed Rory McIlroy Hamilton's 'surprise' win tops great night

Rory McIlroy may have been favourite, but Lewis Hamilton's win shows nothing is certain at Sports Personality of the Year.

Lewis Hamilton wins Sports Personality of the Year, with Rory McIlroy second and Jo Pavey third Hamilton wins Sports Personality

Lewis Hamilton is the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014, with golfer Rory McIlroy second and athlete Jo Pavey third.

Sir Chris Hoy Hoy receives BBC lifetime award

Six-time Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy gets the lifetime achievement honour at the BBC Sports Personality awards.