Rugby World Cup Sevens: New Zealand outclass Wales Sevens

Wales' defence of their Rugby World Cup Sevens crown was ended at the quarter-final stage with a 26-10 loss to New Zealand in Moscow on Sunday.

The Kiwis led 12-5 at half-time thanks to tries from Gillies Kaka and Tomasi Cama, Rhys Shellard replying for Wales.

Bryce Heem and Kaka stretched New Zealand's lead, with Lee Williams adding a late try for battling Wales.

World Cup Sevens schedule


  • 13:40 - Fiji v New Zealand
  • 14:02 - England v Kenya


  • 15:15 - Bowl final
  • 16:05 - Plate final
  • 17:55 - Final

England fared better however, overcoming Australia 21-17 to set up a semi-final against Kenya.

Wales will take some consolation from having topped Pool E, beating Fiji, Tonga and Uruguay along the way.

"It wasn't meant to be," said Wales captain Williams, the sole survivor from the squad that won the title in 2009.

"Utterly disappointing. That game was there for us but errors cost us."

Tries from Christian Lewis-Pratt, Jeff Williams and Rob Vickerman had given England a healthy first-half lead against Australia, but a fightback after the break saw that advantage come under threat.

However, two missed conversions meant a try from Con Foley and two from Shannon Walker were not enough to claw back the first-half damage.

In the semi-final, England will now face a Kenya side who defeated France 24-19.

In the other semi, New Zealand will meet Fiji, who narrowly overcame South Africa 12-10.