London 2012: GB confirms its men's hockey squad

Great Britain's 16-strong Olympic men's hockey squad has been confirmed.

Ashley Jackson, who scored eight goals as Team GB finished fifth in Beijing four years ago, is set to be their main attacking threat.

But Surbiton's Richard Alexander missed out on the squad, as did brothers Simon and Richard Mantell.

"We have an amazing group of guys who have put themselves through so much pain in search of a dream we all share," captain Barry Middleton said.

Striker Matt Daly has made the final party, having regained his fitness after more than six months of knee problems.


There are a few surprises in this team. Neither of the Mantell brothers has been selected - Simon was an injury doubt but older brother Richard has been a team stalwart for years and is considered a top defender. Richard Alexander, who has been in almost all recent international squads, has not been picked and Adam Dixon is another name surprisingly missing.

Iain Lewers, who made more than 80 appearances for Ireland before switching to the GB set-up, has also been selected.

Great Britain coach Jason Lee, explaining the selection, said: "We've had a lot of injury trouble over the last six weeks.

"Injuries have delayed selection but they have not actually changed it.

"Simon Mantell is not fit to be selected, so it is not even a discussion point as to whether he would make the squad.

"There are certainly players in isolation who would consider themselves to be great players - but it was actually about how they combined together, which is what we were trying to work towards for the final 16."

The GB squad, seeking a first Olympic gold since 1988, includes 12 members of the England team who beat Germany to win the 2009 European Championships.

They have been drawn in Pool A with Australia, Spain, Pakistan, Argentina and South Africa. The top two teams will progress to the semi-finals.

The squad will prepare for the Games by taking part in a tri-nation event with Spain and India in Santander from 14 to 18 July.

GB SQUAD: Nicholas Catlin (Reading), Jonathan Clarke (Reading), Matt Daly (Surbiton), James Fair (Cannock), Daniel Fox (Hampstead & Westminster), Ben Hawes (Wimbledon), Ashley Jackson (East Grinstead), Glenn Kirkham (East Grinstead), Iain Lewers (East Grinstead), Iain Mackay (Reading), Harry Martin (Old Loughtonians), Barry Middleton (East Grinstead, capt), Robert Moore (Surbiton), Richard Smith (Loughborough Students), James Tindall (Surbiton), Alastair Wilson (Beeston).