BBC Homepage BBC News online BBC World Service BBC Education My BBC
BBC SportSport Frontpage  |  Rugby Union  |  Six Nations  
Six Nations

Other Six Nations Info:

Bill McLaren's players to watch
Guide to the grounds
Positions guide
Beginner's guide to the laws
Six Nations home page
Rugby news


The object of the game is to score more points than your opponents. There are a number of ways to achieve this.



A try is worth five points. It is scored when a player places the ball on the ground with downward pressure in the in-goal area between the try line and dead ball line of the opposition's half.

Tries can be scored in a number of ways, other than running over the try line and putting the ball down.

They include the pushover try, scored by driving the opposition's scrum back over its own line; the momentum try, where a player slides into the in-goal area; and the penalty try, awarded when a team illegally obstructs the opposition to prevent a certain try from being scored.

There is no such thing as an "own try". If you touch the ball down in your own in-goal area, it results in a kick or a scrum.


If a team scores a try, they have an opportunity to "convert" it for two further points by kicking the ball between the posts and above the crossbar - that is, through the goal. The kick is taken from a point level with where the try was scored.

Penalty kick:

If a side commits a serious offence, a penalty is awarded and the opposition can take the option of a place kick at goal from where the infringement occurred. If successful, it is worth three points.

Drop goal:

A drop goal for three points is scored when a player kicks the ball from hand through the opposition's goal. But the ball must touch the ground between being dropped and kicked.

Copyright BBC ^^ Back to top
© MMII | News Sources | Privacy