BBCfeedback  |  help 
BBC  Sport Front Page  |  In Depth  |  Embassy World Snooker Championship
World Snooker Championships Clive Everton
 Introduction  Snooker Rules  Snooker chat Snooker news section
 Parrott's Profiles  Event History    
Clive Everton's Crucible History
Click on a date below to read the full story of that year's competition
1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988
1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000
John Spencer

John Spencer, who won the title at his first attempt in 1969 and again in Australia during 1970, came to the Crucible ranked only eighth and therefore occupying the last seeding position.

He had been off form and was using a two-piece cue, which he had had only for two months ahead of the championship, the first to be played at Sheffield's Crucible, a small theatre-in-the-round suggested as a snooker venue by Carol Watterson, the wife of promoter Mike Watterson.

But Spencer, who trailed John Virgo by three frames on two occasions before beating him 13-9 in the first round, improved as the championship progressed.

In the last eight, he defeated Ray Reardon, five times world champion between 1970 and 1976, 13-6 and obtained a snooker to prevent John Pulman taking their semi-final encounter the distance as he prevailed 18-16.

Cliff Thorburn had beaten durable Australian Eddie Charlton 13-12 in the quarter-finals and Dennis Taylor 18-16 in the semis and constructed a healthy 15-11 lead in the final.

Spencer, though, raised his game once more to draw level at 15-15 and from 22-21 claimed the next three frames to win his third world title.

>> Click here for the official site of World Snooker