Homepage News World Service Education Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: Cricket: Scorecards:
Sport Front Page
The Ashes
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland
BBC News
BBC Weather
Zimbabwe v Pakistan One Day International Zimbabwe v Pakistan: South Africa v Sri Lanka
1-12-2002 at Benoni

Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 7 wickets

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
South Africa
253 for 7 (50.0 overs)
Sri Lanka
258 for 3 (41.4 overs)

 South Africa First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 G C Smith b W P U J C Vaas 16  31 
 H H Gibbs lbw b W P U J C Vaas
 H H Dippenaar b M K G C P Lakshitha 15 
 J H Kallis c D P M D Jayawardene b R A P Nissanka 87  117  10 
 J N Rhodes c K C Sangakkara b M K G C P Lakshitha
 M V Boucher b R A P Nissanka 14  18 
 S M Pollock c D P M D Jayawardene b S T Jayasuriya 39  49 
 L Klusener not out 60  57 
 N Boje not out 11  11 
 Extras 4b 2lb 12w 3nb 21  
 TOTAL 50.0 overs (for 7 wickets) 253  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 W P U J C Vaas 10.0  39   1-3 [ H H Gibbs, 9 mins]
 M K G C P Lakshitha 7.0  37   2-15 [ H H Dippenaar, 15 mins]
 C R D Fernando 9.0  58   3-28 [ G C Smith, 15 mins]
 R A P Nissanka 10.0  61   4-35 [ J N Rhodes, 5 mins]
 S T Jayasuriya 10.0  37   5-71 [ M V Boucher, 32 mins]
 P A de Silva 4.0  15   6-152 [ S M Pollock, 67 mins]
           7-209 [ J H Kallis, 44 mins]

 Sri Lanka First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 M S Atapattu not out 123  121  15 
 S T Jayasuriya c J N Rhodes b M Ntini 22  23 
 K C Sangakkara c N Boje b A A Donald 10  20 
 P A de Silva b S M Pollock 71  77  10 
 D P M D Jayawardene not out 15  10 
 Extras 4b 4lb 8w 1nb 17  
 TOTAL 41.4 overs (for 3 wickets) 258  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 S M Pollock 10.0  42   1-40 [ S T Jayasuriya, 33 mins]
 M Ntini 10.0  56   2-73 [ K C Sangakkara, 30 mins]
 A A Donald 7.0  45   3-213 [ P A de Silva, 99 mins]
 L Klusener 7.0  38   
 N Boje 3.4  35   
 J H Kallis 4.0  34   

Umpires: B G Jerling, R B Tiffin

South Africa
S M Pollock (capt), M V Boucher (wkt), H H Gibbs, G C Smith, J H Kallis, H H Dippenaar, J N Rhodes, L Klusener, N Boje, A A Donald, M Ntini

Sri Lanka
S T Jayasuriya (capt), K C Sangakkara (wkt), M S Atapattu, D P M D Jayawardene, P A de Silva, R P Arnold, H P Tillakaratne, W P U J C Vaas, M K G C P Lakshitha, R A P Nissanka, C R D Fernando
^^ Back to top