Homepage News World Service Education Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: Cricket: Scorecards:
Sport Front Page
The Ashes
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland
BBC News
BBC Weather
South Africa v Sri Lanka One Day International South Africa v Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka v South Africa
6-12-2002 at Bloemfontein

South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat
Sri Lanka
228 for 8 (50.0 overs)
South Africa
229 for 4 (45.1 overs)

 Sri Lanka First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 M S Atapattu c A J Hall b M Zondeki 53  63 
 S T Jayasuriya c J N Rhodes b A A Donald
 P A de Silva c M V Boucher b S M Pollock
 D P M D Jayawardene c M V Boucher b S M Pollock 14 
 K C Sangakkara not out 77  115 
 R P Arnold c S M Pollock b A J Hall 36  49 
 T T Samaraweera run out 33  44 
 W P U J C Vaas c H H Gibbs b A A Donald
 R A P Nissanka run out
 P W Gunaratne not out
 Extras 2b 6lb 10w 3nb 21  
 TOTAL 50.0 overs (for 8 wickets) 228  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 S M Pollock 10.0  23   1-6 [ S T Jayasuriya, 8 mins]
 A A Donald 9.0  64   2-7 [ P A de Silva, 2 mins]
 A J Hall 10.0  37   3-48 [ D P M D Jayawardene, 25 mins]
 L Klusener 5.0  24   4-84 [ M S Atapattu, 49 mins]
 M Zondeki 8.0  37   5-145 [ R P Arnold, 47 mins]
 R J Peterson 8.0  35   6-201 [ T T Samaraweera, 49 mins]
           7-208 [ W P U J C Vaas, 9 mins]
           8-208 [ R A P Nissanka]

 South Africa First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 H H Gibbs b M K G C P Lakshitha 47  45 
 A J Hall c K C Sangakkara b P W Gunaratne 18  26 
 R J Peterson c K C Sangakkara b W P U J C Vaas
 N D McKenzie not out 70  102 
 H H Dippenaar run out 36  65 
 J N Rhodes not out 25  27 
 Extras 0b 10lb 16w 2nb 28  
 TOTAL 45.1 overs (for 4 wickets) 229  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 W P U J C Vaas 10.0  37   1-44 [ A J Hall, 34 mins]
 M K G C P Lakshitha 10.0  52   2-53 [ R J Peterson, 6 mins]
 P W Gunaratne 8.1  40   3-87 [ H H Gibbs, 31 mins]
 R A P Nissanka 10.0  48   4-175 [ H H Dippenaar, 105 mins]
 T T Samaraweera 4.0  25   
 S T Jayasuriya 3.0  17   

Umpires: B G Jerling, R B Tiffin

South Africa
S M Pollock (capt), H H Gibbs, M V Boucher (wkt), A J Hall, H H Dippenaar, N D McKenzie, J N Rhodes, L Klusener, R J Peterson, A A Donald, M Zondeki

Sri Lanka
S T Jayasuriya (capt), K C Sangakkara (wkt), M S Atapattu, P A de Silva, D P M D Jayawardene, R P Arnold, W P U J C Vaas, T T Samaraweera, M K G C P Lakshitha, R A P Nissanka, P W Gunaratne
^^ Back to top